Sunday Sept 15th 2024


Until British Car Day

The Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award


2016   Robin & Ria Searle

Robin and Ria Searle receiving the 2016 Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award from Sandy McCrea

Past Winners of the Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award

2012   Dawn & Roger Elliott
2013   Bob & Dot Corbin
2014   John & Joanna Lille
2015   Wayne & Debbie McGill

Charlie Conquergood was a friend to all and a staunch supporter of the Toronto Triumph Club and British Car Day. Charlie passed away on March 9, 2009 from cancer.  He was always there to help and happy to do so. He never complained and most of all was well known and loved by many people throughout our hobby. Over the years he touched the hearts – and cars – of many.

Charlie took on many roles within the TTC including a term as President. He was instrumental in developing and computerising the master plan for the lay out of the various marques and models and vendor stalls at British Car Day and for many years would personally be involved in the laying out of the field on the Saturday morning before BCD.

Each year, his friends at the Toronto Triumph Club award a special commemorative plaque in recognition of Charlie’s passing and his unreserved devotion to his wife Sandy, his family and faithful Triumph Spitfire ‘Gumby’.

2017   Frank Manning

Frank Manning receiving the 2017 Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award from Wayne McGill

The recipient of the award is decided by the Executive Committee of the TTC and their decision is based on members who have demonstrated a similar devotion and dedication to the Club and as a reflection of the life values and spirit of friendship, which Charlie Conquergood always shared with us.

At the 38th British Car Day, the Charlie Conquergood Award was presented to
long-time members, Keith and Chris Stewart.   Keith was instrumental in changing over to a new web site and runs the computer input at British Car Day®.   Keith and Chris own a number of spectacular Triumphs including  a TR3 and TR4 together with a recent acquisition – a Triumph Stag – to replace Chris’s TR6.    Congratulations to Keith and Chris from all of your many friends at Toronto Triumph Club,

2018   Clive & Jacquelynne Huizinga

Clive Huizinga receiving the 2018 Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award from Sandy McCrea

2019 Johan Aaltink

Johan Aaltink receiving the 2019 Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award from Dave Sims and Wayne McGill

2022 David Tushingham

David Tushingham receiving the 2022 Charlie Conquergood Memorial Award from Dave Sims

2023 Keith & Chris Stewart

Keith and Chris Stewart receiving the Charlie Conquiergood Award from Johnny Herbert
Shopping Basket